Project Description

Partner, National Industry Leader, Private Equity and Pension Plans

Benjie leads the Private Equity and Pension Plan Advisory practice and is located in Toronto. Benjie has more than 12 years experience assisting private equity funds and strategic buyers plan and execute on acquisitions, reorganizations and divestitures. Mr. Thomas is also a member of KPMG Canada’s board.

In his over 14 years of Transaction Services experience, Benjie has been involved with over 200 transactions in several industry sectors including private equity, telecommunications, manufacturing, distribution, retail, information and entertainment. His focus is to co-ordinate and provide advisory services in many aspects around mergers and acquisitions including financial due diligence, transaction management, dispositions and financings.

Private Equity clients include Teachers’ Private Capital, CPPIB, Tricor Pacific Capital Inc., ONEX, ONCAP, Birch Hill Equity Partners, TorQuest Capital Partners, Trivest Partners, Monitor Clipper, Callisto Capital, OMERS Private Equity, Ironbridge Equity Partners, Penfund, Kensington Capital, Nova Capital, Stern Partners and JH Investments.

Corporate clients include Parkland Fuel Distribution, Maple Leaf Foods, George Weston Limited, Blackberry, Tharco Packaging, CPI Card Company, Chartwell Housing REIT, and GolfTown Inc.

In 2011, Benjie was presented with The Institute of Chartered Accountants of Ontario’s Award of Distinction which honours those CAs who have made an early impact, bringing distinction to themselves and to their profession through leadership and achievement in their professional, community and/or personal lives. In addition to garnering an Award of Distinction, Benjie also was named as the recipient of the Christine E. Sinclair Community Leadership Award. The award was established in 2009 to recognize and profile a younger CA from across the province who has brought distinction to him/herself and to the profession through exceptional leadership in community volunteerism. The recipient is chosen from those candidates nominated in the same year for the ICAO Award of Distinction.