Nominate Today!

The Muslim Awards for Excellence (MAX) Charity of the Year Award will recognize a Muslim run charity or not-for-profit organization that has demonstrated excellence in program design, service delivery and impact to their community.

Eligibility Criteria

A nominee must:

  1. Be Muslim majority run
  2. Be incorporated as a not-for-profit or a registered charity
  3. Have been operating in Canada for at least one year
  4. Clearly defined and publicly available mission statement
  5. Annual audited/reviewed financial statements, available publicly or upon request, for the last 3 years or since incorporation, whichever is shorter
  6. Deliver clear and measurable benefit to disadvantaged or marginalized members of the community. Eligible charities may seek to alleviate pain, spread joy or both
  7. Strive to elevate the Muslim brand by promoting a positive image of Muslims and the Muslim community in Canada

Judging Process

All qualified organizations will be judged based on a combination of merit and public voting. Seven independent judges who will be selected based on their work experience, level of education, and contributions to the community within Canada will evaluate each candidate against the rubric. Their evaluation will carry a weight of 75% while the remaining 25% weight will be assigned to public voting.